Department ofAfrican American Studies

Urbana, IL – 12/5/2019 – Brandon M. Erby, Penn State University, University Park, has won a 2020 CCCC Chairs’ Memorial Scholarship. The Conference on College Composition and Communication (CCCC) is a constituent organization within the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE). Erby is one of 4 recipients of this award.

CCCC sponsors the Chairs’ Memorial Scholarship to remember and honor the Chairs of CCCC who have passed away as well as to increase participation of graduate students at CCCC’s annual conference. The CCCC Executive Committee awards scholarships of $750 each to help cover the costs of four graduate students who are presenting at the annual conference.

Erby will be announced as a recipient of the CCCC Chairs’ Memorial Scholarship on Thursday, March 26, during the 2020 CCCC Annual Convention in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. 

For more information about the CCCC Chairs’ Memorial Scholarship, including past winners, see